Skip to main content
How DUIs Can Affect Your Insurance

Driving while intoxicated in the state of California can dramatically alter an individual's insurance rates. In some cases, rates can jump over 150%. If there are more DUIs, rates can reach far higher, tripling under some circumstances.

Insurance for People With DUIs

California residents already pay high insurance rates, some of the most expensive in the United States. But getting in trouble over a DUI can make things far worse for a motorist. However, there are some cheap car insurance companies for people with DUIs, though finding them is dependent on the vehicle type, the year, and location from where it was bought.

Infinity insurance, for example, has a yearly cost of nearly $3,000 for people with at least one past DUI. This isn't the most expensive option on the market. Alliance insurance can increase annual costs to over $4,000.

Even while taking risks, some insurers can overlook past issues, particularly when other elements relating to their DUI are considered for the rate they end up paying.

Again, these are cheap rates for one-time DUIs. Still, other car insurance companies may offer better rates to people on an individual basis. Many car insurance companies are reluctant to give people with DUIs good deals.

They are seen in a similar light to how credit card and personal loan companies view lenders with bad credit. But unlike credit cards, there remain plenty of insurance companies willing to work with people who have made mistakes in the past, though finding them can sometimes be a chore.

To learn how a DUI can affect your insurance in California, you must understand how insurance works in the state. Even while taking risks, some insurers can overlook past issues, particularly when other elements relating to their DUI are considered for the rate they end up paying.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Important Factors To Consider

Car insurance companies usually increase rates for people with multiple traffic offenses, including racing, general reckless driving, and vehicular accidents for the negligent driver. Yet DUIs remain the most costly to people paying for car insurance.

Some of the factors insurers routinely check for DUI offenders include the following:

The Driving History of the Individual

If someone has been driving for many years, then suddenly gets a DUI handed down by the police after a traffic accident, their insurance rate may stay the same or rise only by a small percentage.

The Driver's Age

Young people with DUIs can receive exceptionally high insurance rates. Insurers already consider young drivers to be at most risk of getting into an accident, which is why their insurance premiums are higher. Even while rates for people in California drop between the ages of 19 and 25, this is not always the case for DUI holders.

How Long High Rates Last

In California, state law mandates drivers to obtain car insurance to operate a motor vehicle on streets and highways. Because of this, the government must allow drivers to retain the ability to find car insurance, even for people with past DUIs. An insurance broker is sometimes needed for them, though there' no guarantee that an individual will get good insurance this way.

Alternatively, DUI holders have the option to get liability coverage through CAARP. It's essentially an insurance issuer mandated by the state government. It is used by drivers that are at high risk. The program finds auto insurers willing to work with them. Through CAARP, drivers can get SR-22 insurance, though the costs can be high.

More About SR-22

SR-22 is a certification that proves a driver's insurance meets the state's coverage costs. From this, their liability will pay for expenses involving the death or serious injury of someone in an accident. Coverage increases more for wrongful death. Damages to one's property are the lowest, beginning at $5,000.

Reporting DUIs to Insurance Companies

Nathalie Nicole Smith states that working hard and staying true to yourself are sure ways to win in life.

Surprisingly, drivers aren't legally required in California to disclose a past DUI to an insurance company. Neither are they required to report past arrests or previous convictions. However, they are mandated to tell insurers if they were part of a vehicular accident.