Skip to main content

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a framework for managing IT service delivery. ITIL certification is for people who wish to show their knowledge and achievements in a variety of ITIL qualifications. It is a highly regarded credential that demonstrates your highest possible skills in ITIL best practices. This certification will help in your IT career development and advance your knowledge of IT management services.

ITIL V4 Certification

Previous ITIL V3 Scheme

You can get ITIL certification from ITIL accredited bodies around the world. Some of these bodies offer both the course and accreditation while others offer only accreditation. The ITIL Expert level is a crucial stage in the ITIL certification scheme. Axelos took ownership of the ITIL and now maintains the ITIL framework and accredits training and examination bodies. The previous version of the ITIL scheme is known as ITIL V3, and it has 5 different certification levels:

  • Foundation
  • Practitioner
  • Intermediate (Service Lifecycle and Service Capability categories)
  • Expert and
  • Master

New ITIL Certification Framework

More than 2,000 ITIL stakeholders worldwide began working on an update of ITIL V3 in late 2017. The new ITIL certifications launched this year is known as ITIL 4 certification. The ITIL 4 provides changes to ITIL certification to accommodate the growing complexity of modern IT. It also changes some of the terms and titles of the program to conform to the new ITIL 4 framework. ITIL 4 Foundation level has now launched with higher levels due in H2 2019

The new framework still starts with ITIL Foundation with ITIL Master as the highest level of the certification. The process of getting from Foundation level to Master level now has two distinct paths. These will allow candidates to choose the certification knowledge areas that best fit their interests and career goals.

ITIL V3 F certified person will take the ITIL 4 Foundation to be able to transition to the new scheme. ITIL V3 Expert certification holders will take the Managing Professional module as soon as it is released to achieve the ITIL Managing Professional designation.

All certifications of ITIL V3 will remain valid following the move to ITIL V4 and will continue to be valuable certifications globally.

Accredited ITIL Bodies

ITIL Expert qualification requires a high level of commitment and financial inputs. You should invest well in the body that you choose to take your ITIL Expert certification. The accreditation body for ITIL certification currently is PeopleCert.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Requirements for ITIL V3 Expert Certification

There are several faculties in the ITIL framework that you can choose from for the ITIL Expert level qualification. The following are the requirements for the highly-regarded ITIL Expert certification.

  1. You must have the ITIL Foundation certificate or a bridge qualification equivalent.
  2. Qualified candidates must prove they have acquired a minimum of 17 credits from both the ITIL Foundation Level and intermediate modules.
  3. The 17 credits can also come from other complementary qualifications.
  4. The candidate should then pass a certification known as Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) faculty with 22 credits as the minimum required level in ITIL Expert Level certification.

Once a candidate has completed all the required ITIL modules and achieved the minimum 22 credits required, they are considered to have the skills to handle the ITIL Expert Level.

The process of ITIL V3 Expert Certification

To get ITIL Expert certification, a candidate needs to successfully go through a series of qualifications and achieve the minimum required credits. The examination institute determines the process you go through to attain the certificate. Candidates who hold the Service Manager or Practitioner qualifications can qualify for the ITIL Expert without taking the MALC exam. Most examiners will train people missing the required qualifications and then award them the certificates once they pass the MALC examination.

ITIL framework works in a credit based system based on Bloom's Taxonomy. The Foundation level 1&2 gives the candidate 2 credits. Intermediate level 3&4 gives the candidate 3 credits for the Life-cycle Stream and 4 credits for the Capability Stream. The MALC exam level 5&6 gives the candidate 5 credits. A 70% score in MALC examination is required to qualify for the ITIL Expert certification. Once you have completed all the requirements, you are eligible for expert qualification. Once you attain ITIL Expert certification, it’s time to implement your skills in your organization and improve your personal life. An ITIL Expert certification qualifies you for the next ITIL level which is the Master Level ITIL certification that shows you have the required knowledge in IT.

MALC Examination

The MALC is the final qualifications to acquire your ITIL Expert certification. It helps the candidate to use and integrate their ITIL knowledge in real-world settings and at a personal level. The exam comes in the form of multiple-choice questions of up to 50 questions. There are 10 questions for each paper where a candidate is required to attain a score of 35 out of the possible 50 marks which translates to about 70%. The exam takes up to 120 minutes and is in a closed-book format. An ITIL Expert is expected to hold the highest level of professionalism and to participate in PDUs offered by trainers and exam providers to ensure their knowledge is balanced.

It is good to be keen while taking the MALC exam, because failing the test will prevent the candidate from ITIL Expert certification. Thorough training and experience are key for successful results. In case the candidate does not achieve the required score, they can inform exam providers so that they are provided a retake exam at a fee.

Career growth with ITIL Certification

A holder of ITIL certification is the perfect credential for a person who wants to advance their career in IT. They can handle various organization positions such as IT Operations Manager, Service Desk, Service Delivery Team Member and many more. The certification is in high demand over the world and makes holders stand out from the rest. The median salary for ITIL Experts is about $95,000 per annum.